West African Youth Awards (WAYAwards) 2018 in Nigeria

West African Youth Awards (WAYAwards) 2018 in Nigeria
Nominations are now opened for the 2018 West African Youth Awards, which recognizes spirited youth leaders who are making outstanding contributions to the development of Africa – and the realization of the Agenda 2063 vision plan of the African Union (AU).
Conferred annually by the Young African Leaders Forum (YALF), the WAYAwards are a great opportunity to acknowledge a colleague whose effort you admire or respect. It recognizes young West African leaders who have made distinguished contributions to their communities.

YALF understands that there are fewer honours and awards than people who deserve them. Because receiving honours and awards are so rare, we have reserved WAYAwards for people who have achieved excellence in their fields and made observable changes and accomplishments in the West African region.

Whilst the 2018 WAYAwards will be conferred across various categories and fields. You can nominate yourself and another outstanding West African or Central African youth leader  for any of the following awards:

- Best Young Innovator of the Year – WEST AFRICA

- Best Young Innovation of the Year – NIGERIA

- West African Young Entrepreneur Award

- Nigerian Young Entrepreneur Award

- Peace Advocate of the Year – WEST AFRICA

- Peace Advocates of the Year – NIGERIA

- Green Champion: Best Young Enviromentalist – WEST AFRICA

- Green champion: Best Young Environmentalist – NIGERIA

- Young West African of the Year – MALE

- Youth Award for Excellence in Development Works – WEST AFRICA

- Young West African of the Year – FEMALE

- Young Activist of the Year – 2018

- Young Author of the Year -2018

- Young Blogger of the Year – 2018

- Young Fashion Designer of the Year – 2018

- Young Educator of the Year – 2018

- Most Innovative Youth of the Year – 2018

- Social Media Personality of the Year – 2018


African Countries, ADB Member Countries


Winners of awards shall be announced and conferred in August at the 2018 West African Youth Summit (WAYS) in Lagos, Nigeria.

Please Note:

- Nominees must have at least 2 years track record in the chosen field, and must be from the West African or Central African background.
- The award committee will only accept nomination for one category or field per person. Nominations on different categories or fields for one individual will lead to automatic disqualification. 

Eligible Regions

West Africa, Central Africa

 How To Apply

- The WAYAward is characterized by three distinctive processes: Nominations, Evaluations and Considerations.
- After nominations are received, the committee would present a shortlist to the public following a thorough selection process.
- Shortlisted candidates would make it to the next stage of the award.
- To nominate yourself or another young leader for the WAYAwards, visit the Apply Now link to choose the category and highlight reasons for nomination.

Application Deadline

July 15, 2018

To find out more, please visit the official website http://2018.yalf-africa.org.
Enter Now

We wish you goodluck. Please share!
Next Post »